On TV Previews + Reviews

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

View previous topic View next topic Go down

On TV Previews + Reviews

Post by Scrappy on Sun Feb 09, 2014 2:05 pm

Thread for whats on TV
Previews + Reviews
General discussion


INXS [C7]
Sunday 29/2
8:30pm-10:30pm
A must for INXS and music lovers
A must for Samantha Jade admirers !



THE KANGAROO GANG
Sunday [C2]
9:30pm-10.30pm
Seen this 2 part series before , rivetting
Based on true events
About a few crooks from Australia that fleeced establishments in England in the 1960's
If the Kangaroo gang somewhat offend you, suggest Sunday 1:30am[C9] , and watch Skippy !


avatar
Scrappy

Join date : 2012-05-15
Posts : 3257

Back to top Go down

Re: On TV Previews + Reviews

Post by Lee on Sun Feb 09, 2014 2:43 pm

Will be watching INXS.

One of the great bands, until Michael Hutchence died.

_________________
The whole aim of practical politics is to keep the populace alarmed – and hence clamorous to be led to safety – by menacing it with an endless series of hobgoblins, all of them imaginary.”– H.L. Mencken
avatar
Lee

Join date : 2011-12-05
Posts : 6881
Location : Talking footy
My club : west

Back to top Go down

Re: On TV Previews + Reviews

Post by bayman on Sun Feb 09, 2014 6:36 pm

have seen Kangaroo gang on fox, very interesting


Schapelle on ch 9 tonight, for those that are interested
avatar
bayman

Join date : 2012-02-05
Posts : 6772
Location : on a marx brothers set
Teams : plympton, glenelg, redbacks & whoever the money is on
My club : glenelg

Back to top Go down

Re: On TV Previews + Reviews

Post by Scrappy on Sun Feb 09, 2014 7:28 pm

Likely to be a commercials blitz

I hope C7 +C9 co-ordinate their commercial breaks
So we can see both INXS and Schapelle tonight !
avatar
Scrappy

Join date : 2012-05-15
Posts : 3257

Back to top Go down

Re: On TV Previews + Reviews

Post by Chambo Off To Work We Go on Sun Feb 09, 2014 7:30 pm

bayman wrote:have seen Kangaroo gang on fox, very interesting


Schapelle on ch 9 tonight, for those that are interested

Like the Lindy Chamberlain saga, I am a bit Schapelled out.

Reckon I'll have a look at Samantha Jade get naughty.
From the promos, she almost looks more Kylie than Kylie.
avatar
Chambo Off To Work We Go

Join date : 2012-02-03
Posts : 2791
My club : sturt

Back to top Go down

Re: On TV Previews + Reviews

Post by Chambo Off To Work We Go on Sun Feb 09, 2014 7:31 pm

Scrappy wrote:Likely to be a commercials blitz

I hope C7 +C9 co-ordinate their commercial breaks
So we can see both INXS and Schapelle tonight !

Ever an optimist Scrappy!
avatar
Chambo Off To Work We Go

Join date : 2012-02-03
Posts : 2791
My club : sturt

Back to top Go down

Re: On TV Previews + Reviews

Post by Lee on Sun Feb 09, 2014 8:07 pm

Happy to give Schapelle a miss, but INCS is on at the same time as Rake.

Bugger, looks like IView tomorrow.

Mad as Hell with Shaun Micallef is on again Wednesday.

_________________
The whole aim of practical politics is to keep the populace alarmed – and hence clamorous to be led to safety – by menacing it with an endless series of hobgoblins, all of them imaginary.”– H.L. Mencken
avatar
Lee

Join date : 2011-12-05
Posts : 6881
Location : Talking footy
My club : west

Back to top Go down

Re: On TV Previews + Reviews

Post by Thiele on Sun Feb 09, 2014 8:28 pm

Recording INXS over the next two weeks so I can watch all at once and skip the ads. So the Winter Olympics have my ticket tonight
avatar
Thiele

Join date : 2011-12-14
Posts : 906
My club : west

Back to top Go down

Re: On TV Previews + Reviews

Post by Scrappy on Sun Feb 09, 2014 11:10 pm

Part 1 INXS was excellent
Except Samantha Jade didn't look like Kylie or herself

Noticed on a billing sign
Kempsey Hotel
25/10 INXS
3/11 The Dugites
12/11 Australian Crawl with special guests The Boys

I remember seeing The Boys the band on the Adelaide night club scene
They played plenty of covers, and they were a very good live band
avatar
Scrappy

Join date : 2012-05-15
Posts : 3257

Back to top Go down

Re: On TV Previews + Reviews

Post by Scrappy on Mon Feb 10, 2014 12:46 pm

On this day
10/2/1984 [A Norwood Premiership year]
The 5AD number 1 listed song was
Original Sin
INXS
avatar
Scrappy

Join date : 2012-05-15
Posts : 3257

Back to top Go down

Re: On TV Previews + Reviews

Post by Southee on Tue Feb 11, 2014 8:06 pm

Saw and meet Michael Hutchence ..... Interesting man.

Sad to say his eyes at the time were rolling around a lot !!!

Loved the tv show and thought Luke Arnold did a great job acting out Hutch Smile
avatar
Southee

Join date : 2012-01-29
Posts : 926
My club : south

Back to top Go down

Re: On TV Previews + Reviews

Post by Scrappy on Mon Feb 17, 2014 11:32 pm

INXS
Great 2 week series on INXS
Luke Arnold has a Jeff Goldblum look about him with the haido
And reminds me a bit of Richard Tyson

SCHAPELLE
Predictable

LOVE CHILD
Love Child was arguably Diana Ross's best hit song
Looks like it will be a good series to watch
Played lots of 60s songs in episode 1
Including the Russell Morris iconic Real Thing
avatar
Scrappy

Join date : 2012-05-15
Posts : 3257

Back to top Go down

Re: On TV Previews + Reviews

Post by testy on Tue Feb 18, 2014 7:32 pm


We enjoyed the INXS special also.

Luke Arnold's portrayal of Michael Hutchence was brilliant.

We now wait for FAT TONY
avatar
testy

Join date : 2012-02-02
Posts : 1432
Location : Dog House
My club : west

Back to top Go down

Re: On TV Previews + Reviews

Post by bayman on Tue Feb 18, 2014 7:55 pm

Scrappy & i know FAT TONY but it is a different FAT TONY
avatar
bayman

Join date : 2012-02-05
Posts : 6772
Location : on a marx brothers set
Teams : plympton, glenelg, redbacks & whoever the money is on
My club : glenelg

Back to top Go down

Re: On TV Previews + Reviews

Post by Scrappy on Sat Mar 01, 2014 12:24 am

FAT TONY
Not bad , worth watching
Robert Mammone [Tony Mokbel] plays the part well
Gyton Grantley [Carl Williams] is a ripper
Vince Colosimo[Alphonse Gangitano] was cast as well

JANET KING
Has had good reviews in the press , so decided to see the premiere
Outstanding 8 part Australia mini series
Enjoyed part 1 immensely
The 2 I liked in the cast were :
Vince Colosimo:
Superintendent Jack  perhaps this might end up being Vince's best effort TV part , this guy is a star
Marta Dusseldorp :
Janet King The gay prosecutor

Vince calls Marta a dyke in part one
Stirring stuff, cant wait for episode 2

LOVE CHILD
Seen 2 episodes, had very big reviews and plenty of airplay previews
Not quite lived up to the hype , but good enough vewing
Its 60's Australia , that's always going to be a plus mark
Jessica Marias plays a nice part outstandingly well , and she is the focal point the series

Some memories of the times
A group of segregated pregnant gals watched the moon landing on black and white TV
I can recall watching it on black and white TV , all those years ago in Primary School
Some brilliant 60's musical tracks are a feature so far
avatar
Scrappy

Join date : 2012-05-15
Posts : 3257

Back to top Go down

Re: On TV Previews + Reviews

Post by bayman on Wed Mar 19, 2014 6:58 pm

whatever happened to the show Naked News ?


was always good for a laugh
avatar
bayman

Join date : 2012-02-05
Posts : 6772
Location : on a marx brothers set
Teams : plympton, glenelg, redbacks & whoever the money is on
My club : glenelg

Back to top Go down

Re: On TV Previews + Reviews

Post by Scrappy on Tue Apr 01, 2014 9:22 pm

LOVE CHILD
Bayman would have liked the 2nd last episode last Sunday night

A young girl by chance became an SP bookies bagman
Bagman is the name given to individuals who collect bets for an SP bookie , they get a commission for their collection of bets
The girl collected the bets and was about to give the bets to the SP bookie
Low and behold the SP gets sprung and arrested
I think ,as I saw, it the monies were confiscated
The girl is confused and stands her ground hoping no one backs the winner , that way no one is the wiser , and she is let off the hook

The only problem is most of the staff were on the pre-post favorite for the 1969 Melbourne Cup
That being Big Philou !
About 3/4 of an hour before the Cup the Bart Cummings stayer was scratched , after being nobbled [ I still vividly remember the events as a precocious Primary school kid]

And the girlie is in s..t creek
She has to refund all the bets on Big Philou !
Oh dear

Hey Bayman , we have been there and done that !

During this episode they played one of my favorite all time songs
Something In The Air
By
Thunderclapp Newman

The songs they have played throughout the series , have brought back memories
avatar
Scrappy

Join date : 2012-05-15
Posts : 3257

Back to top Go down

Re: On TV Previews + Reviews

Post by Scrappy on Tue Apr 01, 2014 9:30 pm

bayman wrote:whatever happened to the show Naked News ?


was always good for a laugh

A replacement of 'sorts' is shown on C132 Foxtel currently
Exotic Tales
Seen some episodes, they are quite clever story lines
avatar
Scrappy

Join date : 2012-05-15
Posts : 3257

Back to top Go down

Re: On TV Previews + Reviews

Post by Scrappy on Thu Apr 24, 2014 5:07 pm

bayman wrote:whatever happened to the show Naked News ?


was always good for a laugh

Good 'news' Bayman
Naked is back on !
Studio : Channel 132 , Foxtel
24/4/2013
avatar
Scrappy

Join date : 2012-05-15
Posts : 3257

Back to top Go down

Re: On TV Previews + Reviews

Post by bayman on Thu Apr 24, 2014 10:01 pm

Scrappy wrote:
bayman wrote:whatever happened to the show Naked News ?


was always good for a laugh

Good 'news' Bayman
Naked  is back on !
Studio : Channel 132 , Foxtel
24/4/2013

i'll have to have a 'look' but i hope they have new girls on or they'd be all hitting my age & who wants to see a naked person over 100 years old ?

''Bikini Babes'' on Aurrora (or however it is spelt) at 10.30pm (was last night anyway).....premise of the ''live show'' 2 buxom girls ask you to ring up for a chat at a fee of (very small writing on the screen) $5.75 per minute i think it said, they must get callers or it wouldn't be on tv but fair dinkum who in their  right mind would ring up ?

i lasted less than 2 minutes when i went channel surfing late last night
avatar
bayman

Join date : 2012-02-05
Posts : 6772
Location : on a marx brothers set
Teams : plympton, glenelg, redbacks & whoever the money is on
My club : glenelg

Back to top Go down

Re: On TV Previews + Reviews

Post by Scrappy on Wed Nov 26, 2014 10:29 pm

THE CLIENT LIST

Anyone seen this series ?
Been watching it , has a bit of everything
The main attraction is Jennifer Love Hewitt who has certainly grown up since her Party Of Five days

Actresses Jennifer Love Hewitt and Beck Cartwright have something in common
Both love Hewitt ...
avatar
Scrappy

Join date : 2012-05-15
Posts : 3257

Back to top Go down

Re: On TV Previews + Reviews

Post by Gingernuts on Mon Feb 16, 2015 9:14 am

HOUSE OF HANCOCK

Did anyone watch this over the last couple of weeks?

I found it reasonably interesting. If ever there was proof that money doesn't necessarily bring happiness, it would be this family.

I know it was a fictionalised account, but there would be plenty of truth laced through it, and it all added up to a bunch of fairly unpleasant people really. Was hard to identify with any of the characters in the show to be honest, they were all rather unlikeable.
avatar
Gingernuts

Join date : 2012-02-01
Posts : 2493
Teams : Adelaide, Sth Adelaide, Langhorne Creek
My club : south

Back to top Go down

Re: On TV Previews + Reviews

Post by Scrappy on Mon Feb 16, 2015 7:07 pm

The real life Gina Rinehart had a successful injunction of sorts on the series
Accuracy of content was the issue

As I understand it
Gina was given a court approval to view part or all of the show before aired

Oresome for the ratings ?
avatar
Scrappy

Join date : 2012-05-15
Posts : 3257

Back to top Go down

Re: On TV Previews + Reviews

Post by Gingernuts on Tue Feb 17, 2015 11:45 am

GALLIPOLI

I missed the first episode last week, and being generally knackered due to the erratic sleep patterns of my small children I was resigned to the fact that I probably didn't have the energy to commit to a new TV series anyway.

As luck would have it though, the first episode was replayed after the cricket on Saturday night and it kept me well and truly riveted. It painted a really interesting picture of those first moments of the invasion, with skirmishes up and down the hills. So often you learn of Gallipoli as another trench warfare theatre, but in those early moments I guess it was anything but.

A lot of confusion on the battlefield also due to lack of any organised communication systems, and of course the lack of strong leadership. Very interesting.

Last nights episode was set a month afterwards, with trench warfare now fully involved. It covered the Turks first serious counter attack, with thousands of men being thrown at the ANZAC trenches. It also covered the first ceasefire in order to clean up the bodies, and the impact that had including friendly interactions between the opposing forces, and the realisation that the Turks were actually just like them.

I'm definitely hooked.
avatar
Gingernuts

Join date : 2012-02-01
Posts : 2493
Teams : Adelaide, Sth Adelaide, Langhorne Creek
My club : south

Back to top Go down

Re: On TV Previews + Reviews

Post by Scrappy on Wed Feb 18, 2015 6:29 pm

On this day
18/2/1972
There was a new show started on C7
Anything Can Happen
Compared by BIG Bob Francis

I have no recollection of this show
Can anyone recall this show ?
avatar
Scrappy

Join date : 2012-05-15
Posts : 3257

Back to top Go down

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

View previous topic View next topic Back to top


 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum